Skip to main content

2014 Faculty Awards

Faculty from the College of Humanities and Social Sciences were recently recognized for outstanding accomplishments in teaching, advising, research and engagement during a program held in Caldwell Lounge April 24, 2014. “The variety of achievements illustrated by these awards demonstrates the breadth of excellence in our faculty,” said CHASS Dean Jeff Braden, who presided over the event. “It is truly an honor for me to represent all of you and the outstanding work you do.”

College Awards

Craig Friend, History: CHASS Outstanding Graduate Professor

Ryan Hurley

Ryan Hurley, Communication: Lonnie and Carol Poole Award for Excellence

 Chad Ludington

Chad Ludington, History: CHASS Outstanding Lecturer

Megan Glancy

Megan Glancy, Sociology; Cynthia Zuckerman-Hyman (not pictured), Communication: CHASS Outstanding Advisors

Elaine Orr

Elaine Orr, English, CHASS Outstanding Researcher

Andy Taylor

Andy Taylor, Political Science, CHASS Outstanding Researcher

Andy Binder, Communication; Sinikka Elliott, Sociology; Jodi Hall, Social Work; Mark Nance, Political Science; Timothy Stinson, English: CHASS Outstanding Junior Faculty Award Nominees

Sinikka Elliott

Sinikka Elliott, CHASS Outstanding Junior Faculty Award winner

University awards:

Wilton Barnhardt, English: Alumni Association Distinguished Graduate Professor

Sarah Bowen, Sociology; Michele Darrah, Foreign Languages and Literatures: University Outstanding Extension Service Awardees

Craig Brookins, Psychology & Africana Studies: Community Engaged Faculty Fellow

Troy Case, Anthropology: Alumni Association Distinguished Undergraduate Professor

Diedre Crumbley, Africana Studies: Lawrence Clark Faculty Excellence Awardee

Deanna Dannels, Communication: UNC Board of Governors Teaching Award Nominee

David Greene, Professor Emeritus, Interdisciplinary Studies: NC State Association of Retired Faculty 2014 William C. Friday Awardee 

Deborah Hooker, English, Women’s and Gender Studies: Lifetime Achievement Awardee, NC State Council on the Status of Women

Roy Stamper, English: University New Faculty Advisor Awardee

Linda Williams, Social Work: University Faculty Advisor Awardee

Mary Wyer, Psychology:  Equity for Women Faculty Awardee, NC State Council on the Status of Women


Stacy De Coster

Stacy De Coster, Sociology: NC State University Academy of Outstanding Teachers inductee

Sinikka Elliott

Sinikka Elliott, Sociology: NC State University Academy of Outstanding Teachers inductee

Susanna Lee

Susanna Lee, History: NC State University Academy of Outstanding Teachers inductee


Fellowships and statewide awards:

David Ambaras, Professor of History, has been awarded a fellowship for a year of research and writing at the National Humanities Center in Research Triangle Park. He has also been named a Fellow at the  American Council of Learned Societies.

Brent Sirota, Professor of History, has earned a prestigious Huntington Library Fellowship.

Steve Vincent, Professor of History, has been named a fellow at the Institute for Advanced Studies at Princeton.

Dr. Walt Wolfram, the William C. Friday Distinguished Professor of English, has won the state’s highest civilian honor — the North Carolina Award — for his commitment to public service.